I try to make everyone’s day a little more surreal

Calvin and Hobbes

Calvin and Hobbes

Hey, I’m in Atlanta and haven’t had much time to write, but the rapid decline of my view counts following my facebook status announcement makes me feel bad that I’m doing nothing to encourage the few stragglers still bothering to stop by. The visit stats are pretty interesting – post status publicity brought me from 0 to  52…which then went down to 12 the next day…then 2, where it has since been disconcertingly hovering. I’m attributing the drop to short attention spans rather than the shittiness of my writing. I know I always stalk the blogs of my acquaintances with utmost focus and persistence. I’m always part of that 1 or 2 member readership. So don’t feel self conscious if you’re reading this.

As for the Calvin and Hobbes, my former study hall bffs were always going on about it. Though I had previously taken that conversation topic as a signal that it was time to contort my neck uncomfortably and take a pseudo-nap on my forearms, I looked it up the other day, and it’s pretty awesome.
prophets_doom1

3 Responses to “I try to make everyone’s day a little more surreal”

  1. Aunt Mo Says:

    Indeed, awesome it was…I keep a yellowed strip on my desk. It’s been my mantra since grade school and all through my professional writing and producing life. It goes something like this:

    Calvin is sitting in the sandbox idlely playing. Hobbes joins him.

    Hobbes: Do you have an idea for your story yet?

    Calvin: No, I’m waiting for inspiration….You can’t turn on creativity like a faucet. You have to be in the right mood.

    Hobbes: What mood is that?

    Calvin: Last-minute panic.

  2. Calvin Says:

    I was named after this comic book.

Leave a Reply

